top of page
Blog: Blog2
  • Writer's pictureJubilee Briscoe

The Imperfection Blog posting: Magical art of getting sh*t done


Imperfect photo cause the perfect one was not ready...how perfect

 

Perfectionism is my greatest obstacle. Wanting my communication of complex ideas to be elegant and clear and then falling short means I take no action or scrap the actions I have taken.

The truth is I'm an average/adequate communicator and I'm not happy with THAT. The extraordinary ideas in my head feel like they require more, better. If I am not capable of perfect, then I shouldn't even try. I also know these are lies I tell to myself to give myself permission to procrastinate, to not do the thing (write) or not do what I plan to do with the thing (not publish the post)

My mission requires better. Not better communication. Not more perfection. Rather it requires more vulnerability acceptance of exactly where I am and what I am capable of in the moment I sit down to communicate.


I am committing.

Nope that word sounds too stressful.


I am playing with creating an imperfect blog post every week. I will sit down and write on a given topic, allowing it to flow in the way it wants to flow and then just publishing it knowing the imperfection is perfect. Done and out there is better than the unobtainable vision of perfection.

We are creating a world where mistakes are allowed and even encouraged because that is where we grow as individuals and groups. If this is the world I am creating it is the world I should be living in. Celebrating my and our imperfections is a great place to start.

Showing the messy process of self-discovery and of getting an idea out into the world is not something that I have seen done before in society. We are supposed to perfect it and work out all of the kinks before releasing it to the world. This stops true innovation and diminishes our individual and collective potential.

I have heard the question “What would you do if you knew you couldn't fail?” but better yet what if there was no fail? What if we created a world where getting it wrong was encouraged as a necessary step on the road to getting it right.

What could we do in a world where failure was not shameful, but encouraged?

How much more rapidly can we innovate in a world where we are given permission to find problems, solve them, improve on them and allowed to be wrong in any or all of it. That kind of world encourages thought, action, debate and maximizes our innovation (improving all our lives). It allows us to have bad days, bad projects and be be less than perfect humans in the moment and overall. We are still worthy of love and acceptance, exactly as we are.

That is the world I'm looking to co-create with other imperfect humans who are on their own path of imperfect self-discovery and the chaotic mastery of this thing we call life.

We are going to create a better world that works for everyone and we are going to have fun doing it.

Edited to add: This was written over a week ago and I was waiting to get the perfect graphic (it is coming) so posting it now with the placeholder is a perfect example of getting it done with imperfection.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page